Cover reveal for A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS!

Hello, hello, and happy autumn!

I’m so delighted to be able to share the cover of the forthcoming anthology A Thousand Beginnings and Endings (a YA anthology of retellings of Asian folklore and mythology and fairy tales by authors whose heritage those stories come from)! My piece is called “Daughter of the Sun,” and is a mash-up of two stories from the Mahabharata: “Savitri and Satyavan” and “Ganga and Shantanu.” The lineup is full of amazing writers, and I can’t wait to read the whole book!

You can preorder it here and here.

For now, feast your eyes on this cover!

The blurb:

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

 

Mermaid modeling and article in FAERIE MAGAZINE!

The summer issue 2017 of Faerie Magazine, with my mermaid modeling photo (accompanying Alice Hoffman‘s short story) and article on four Hindu and Buddhist mythical beings, is out! I’m so, so excited; with this issue of my favorite magazine, I get to be the representation I want to see in the world!

I hope you’ll grab a copy; the whole issue is especially beautiful. (The theme is “A Midsummer Fairy’s Day,” and my friend and deputy editor of the magazine Grace Nuth is featured in it, too!)

(Photo by Steve Parke of Faerie Magazine)

Here I am in Woodstock, New York, doing a little photo shoot of the photo shoot! (It was a very sunny day.)

(Grab your copy here: https://www.faeriemag.com/collections/magazine/products/faerie-magazine-issue-39-summer-2017-print.)

Inclusivity in Fairy Tales podcast episode (SKIFFY AND FANTY)

A quick post to share that Brittany Warman, Sara Cleto, and I were guests for the inclusivity in fairy tales episode of the speculative fiction podcast Skiffy and Fanty (in its own words, a podcast about “anything and everything related to the science fiction and fantasy genres”), and we had a great discussion with hosts Julia Rios and Mike Underwood! I hope you’ll give it a listen and let me know what you think.

Photo shoot in FAERIE (by Prince’s former photographer) and fairy-tale jewelry! :D

So! I’ve got two beautiful things to share with you today. First up, not only will I have an article in the summer 2017 issue of Faerie magazine (this one about four mythical beings from Hindu and Buddhist lore), but I actually got to model as a mermaid for Alice Hoffman‘s latest story!!!!! I’m over the moon. And Steve Parke, who did the photo shoot, used to be Prince’s photographer. Yes, that Prince of all things purple. I can’t wait, and here’s a sneak peek! (You’ll be able to get the paper and/or PDF version in June.)

This means so much to me, as someone who in her teens used to think she was ugly and worthless. If you’ve read either my essay on the topic or my story “Krishna Blue” in Kaleidoscope, you might understand. (The bullying in “Krishna Blue” was taken from my own life–though sadly I didn’t get to eat colors as a result. That would have been fabulous.) You should definitely know by now, though, how much true inclusivity means to me, and Faerie has been working very hard to make that part of its foundation–magic is for everyone. So to get to represent that on the page both in word and image . . . my heart is overflowing.

My second piece of wonderful news is that my amazing jeweler friend Meenoo Mishra of Minou Bazaar decided to make a fairy-tale collection after taking the Carterhaugh School’s long course on the fairy tale, and she included pieces based on my retelling of Tatterhood called “Lavanya and Deepika”! (I’m so happy this story has resonated for so many people.) How gorgeous; I’m absolutely treating myself to the Lavanya set, though I’d delightedly wear Deepika, too. Check out the entire collection in her Etsy shop; it’s stunning.

 

Lavanya!

Deepika!

New story out (“Ghost Notes”)!

I’ve been away this past week (first a much-needed meditation retreat–we need contemplation and compassion for others so much, especially right now–and then a visit with a wonderful friend who helped me figure out what to do with the rest of my novel revision and just inspired me in general), so I wasn’t around to announce this, but I have a story out in Mythic Delirium! It’s a creepy harp flash piece called “Ghost Notes,” and I hope you like it.

It’s in good company, too; my friends and talented colleagues Sara Cleto and Jessica Wick also have pieces out in the same issue. Please go enjoy!

Two happy things: an essay (live) and a poem (forthcoming)!

I’m thrilled to announce two things! First, my essay “#beautifulresistance” is live in Uncanny magazine, and I hope you’ll go read it. (Among other things, it’s my love letter to Link from The Legend of Zelda.)

The other thing is my first collaboration, a poem with dear friend and folklorist Sara Cleto! It’s called “Starskin, Sealskin,” and will appear in a forthcoming issue of Uncanny. Whee!

Two bits of news

Hi, friends! It’s pretty icy where I am, so I’m snuggled up under a blanket with a mug of tea as I write this.

I have a couple fun things to share with you. First, if you’re in the NYC/NYC metro area, I’ll be there on Monday, 20 March, for a panel with the editor and some of the other authors in Here We Are: Feminism for the Real world, which will be moderated by David Levithan as part of the New York City Teen Author Festival. It’s free and open to the public; please come see us!

The second thing is that my article about three Hindu goddesses is now available in the spring 2017 issue of Faerie magazine! The theme of the issue is “Warriors and Goddesses,” and it’s full of amazing women and gorgeous photography. I hope you’ll check it out! It’s available online here (and if PDFs are more your thing, here), and if you live in the States, you should also be able to find it at your local Barnes and Noble bookstore.